top of page


RE out by Eclipse Music!

""There is nothing purer than the voice of Aino Peltomaa over a pipe drone. It’s as traditional and heartfelt as you can get and drills down into the intense humanity of these largely ancient works, as reinterpreted by the members of Finland’s Ensemble Gamut!.”

- Jez Rowden/The Progressive aspect 

"--the recognizable style of Ensemble Gamut, in which effective pop aesthetics blend with medieval vibes and ethno minimalism."

- ​Kare Eskola / YLE

"Scandinavian folk, flute, sounds, hypnotic... an experience not to be missed" 

-Aodren Pecnard /djolo

"Anyone who enjoys medieval music with a modern twist, folk music, church music or minimalistic music, instrumental or vocal music, will have a lot of fun with this second album  ."

- Els Van Swool / 8weekly

Gamut_Digisleeve copy (2).jpg

ÆR out by Outhere Music!

"ÆR (Fuga Libera | Outhere Music) is an album by Peltomaa Fraanje Perkola, an unorthodox Dutch/Finnish trio for voice, piano and viola da gamba, which takes medieval hymns and transforms them into quizzical, drone-based experimental miniatures.”

- The Guardian 

"As the scholar Evelyn Underhill wrote more than a century ago, the mystical experience is not the occult, not an escape from reality; it is reality itself, all that is left when artifice is stripped away. ... This album touches on that essence as expressed in music, and I can think of few other examples so well done in our time."

- ​Linda Holt / Fanfare (USA)

"Rarely is medieval music combined with modern improvisation with such style" / "The album touches the soul with slow and gentle movement and irresistible power" 

-Kare Eskola (Yle, Finnish broadcasting company )

"Deux Finlandais – Aino Peltomaa (voix, harpe médiévale, cloches) et Mikko Perkola (viole de gambe, effets et électronique) – et un Néerlandais – Harmen Fraanje Music (piano à queue et piano droit préparé) – ont imaginé ce programme atypique puisant tantôt chez Hildegard von Bingen et Perotin, tantôt dans le Codex Las Huelgas du XIVe siècle ou les Piae Cantiones du XVIe et parfois même dans leur propre imaginaire compositionnel. Le résultat est tout aussi délicieusement imprévisible qu’indescriptible."

- Nicolas Blanmont "Album of the week" by Musiq3 radio channel


UT oUT by Eclipse Music!

”Ut is one of the most interesting sounding albums I’ve heard in a long time” … ”This one came straight out of nowhere and immediately captured my heart. More exceptional beauty from Scandinavia, it’s Finland this time where Ensemble Gamut! offer breathtaking reinterpretations of Finish folk and early music with a modern sheen.”

- Jez Rowden - The Progressive Aspect, Best progressive albums of 2020

Nominated for best classical music albums by YLE 2021 - The Finnish national broadcasting company

"Early Music Achievement of the Year 2020"

Levyn kansikuva.png

"The debut album UT is characterized by natural and relaxed musicianship. [--] Peltomaa has a sheer and beautiful soprano voice, good rhythm and fine, precise ornaments. [--] The repertoire includes medieval and renaissance music from continental Europe and Finnish folk music as a counterweight. The combination fits perfectly well and several of the musicians have experience of both genres."

- Tove Djupsjöbacka, 2.12.2020

bottom of page